Various 'Kaleidoscope - New Spirits Known and Unknown' 3xLP + 7"

Various 'Kaleidoscope - New Spirits Known and Unknown' 3xLP + 7"
Soul Jazz Records’ new album ‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ brings together many of the ground- breaking artists involved in the new jazz scene that has developed in the UK over the last few years.

Featured artists include Matthew Halsall, Yazmin Lacey, Ill Considered, Tenderlonious, Theon Cross, Emma-Jean Thackray and many, many more in this ground-breaking release.

As well as sharing a pioneering spirit in these new artists’ approach to frontier-crossing musical boundaries, a further theme of this album is that many also share a determination to independent practices – and most of these artists’ recordings featured here are either self-published or released on independent labels. While the attention of this new wave of jazz artists up until now has been London-based, this album shows how this movement is spread across the whole of Britain (and indeed beyond).

‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ shows that while there is commonality in these artists’ approach to music, there is a wide variety of styles – from deep spiritual jazz, electronic experimentalisation, punk-edged funk, uplifting modal righteousness, deep soulful vocals and much more.

Soul Jazz Records’ new release comes as a superb one-off pressing special deluxe triple vinyl album edition with a bonus limited-edition single (exclusive to independent retailers).


A1 Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra – When The World Was One
A2 Yazmin Lacey – 90 Degrees
A3 Hector Plimmer – Communication Control
B1 Ill Considered – Long Way Home (Live At The Crypt)
B2 The Expansions – Mosaic
B3 Chip Wickham – Red Planet
B4 Levitation Orchestra – Odyssey
C1 Emma-Jean Thackray – Walrus
C2 Tenderlonious And The 22archestra – The Shakedown
C3 Pokus – Pokus One
C4 Theon Cross – Candace Of Meroe
C5 Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin Feat. Nubya Garcia – Tanner’s Tango
D1 Collocutor – Gozo
D2 Makaya Mccraven – Untitled
D3 Nat Birchall – Ancient World
D4 Ruby Rushton – Moonlight Woman
E1 Ebi Soda – Dimmsdale
E2 The Cromagnon Band – Thunder Perfect
E3 Seed Ensemble – Mirrors
E4 Ishmael Ensemble – Kito’s Theme
E5 Vels Trio – Yellow Ochre (Part 1)

This album also comes with extensive sleevenotes, artist interviews and exclusive photography.

Soul Jazz records are also releasing an exclusive one-off pressing double-headed 12” single featuring Theon Cross and Pokus released on the same day as the ‘Kaleidoscope’ album (also exclusive to independent retailers).

Catalogue number: SJRLP455-7

Condition: New

Label: Soul Jazz

Related Products