Skip to product information
1 of 1

Nate Young 'Volume One: Dilemmas Of Identity' LP

Nate Young 'Volume One: Dilemmas Of Identity' LP

Regular price £16.49 GBP
Regular price Sale price £16.49 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
First release in a new multi-part series of solo releases by Wolf Eyes frontman Nate Young. An evolution from the previous Regression material, taking in elements of classic synth soundtracks, ambient and electronic body music but filtered through a typically off-centre Michigan underground sensibility.

In the Regression series - ‘Regression’ (2009), ‘Stay Asleep’ (2011), ‘Other Days’ (2012), ‘Blinding Confusion’ (2013) - Young drew a compositional aesthetic from Italian library music and musique concrète. Since then, Young has been interpreting the traditional musical methods of rhythm and melody into complex synthesizer compositions.

These songs were commonly made as a distraction from grief, seasonal depression and isolation. Sometimes severely ridiculous and unrelenting, other times slow, sparse and strange, this material didn’t fit in with the Regression series. It was archived and unreleased until now.

Nate Young is a Detroit-based musician working in experimental electronic sound for over twenty years. In 1998, Young founded legendary noise group Wolf Eyes. Solo and as Wolf Eyes, Young has toured the world, released countless records, collaborated with Anthony Braxton and Marshall Allen and inspired a generation of electronic musicians. Recent accomplishments include performing his compositions with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and creating Trip Metal Fest, an annual free experimental music festival in Detroit that has brought luminaries such as Morton Subotnick and the Art Ensemble of Chicago to the city. In 2016, Young co-created (with John Olson) Lower Floor Music with assistance from iconic electronic label Warp Records.

Presented in a reverse board sleeve with A2 double-sided newsprint poster. Includes digital download card featuring bonus track ‘Pardon The Mess’.


Catalogue number: LFLP004

Condition: New

Label: Lower Floor Music
View full details